If you are pulled over for texting and driving in Massachusetts, you may be able to avoid a conviction by taking a distracted driving course. The course is available online and takes about four hours to complete. It is important to note that you must complete the course before your court date in order to avoid a conviction.
If you are convicted of texting and driving in Massachusetts, you will face a fine of $100.00 for your first offense and $250.00 for each subsequent offense. You will also have three points added to your driving record.