In the State of Massachusetts, is It Required That I Have a Front Licence Plate?

Answered by

Mary Jeremiah
Mary JeremiahDirector of Outreach

Posted on Feb 26, 2023

1. In Massachusetts, it is not required that you have a front licence plate.

2. Some people choose to have a front licence plate for aesthetic reasons, while others find it helpful for identification or for parking.

3. If you do choose to have a front licence plate, there are a few things you need to know.

4. First, you must purchase a front licence plate bracket, which can be found at most automotive stores.

5. Second, you must register your front licence plate with the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MDOT).

6. Finally, you must display your front licence plate correctly.

People are also asking

  • Is It Mandatory in Maryland to Have a Front Licence Plate?

    Yes, it is mandatory in Maryland to have a front licence plate. This is a requirement of the state Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). Failure to have a front licence plate can result in a ticket and fines.

    Read more
  • Does Your Car Need a Front Licence Plate in Maine?

    Yes, cars registered in Maine are required to display a front licence plate.The purpose of the front licence plate is to identify the vehicle and its driver to law enforcement and other officials.If your car does not have a front licence plate, you may be ticketed.

    Read more
  • Do Front Licence Plates Need to Be Sported in Kentucky?

    1) Yes, front licence plates are required in Kentucky.2) The plates must be displayed in the lower front corner of the vehicle, on the left side.3) The plate must be visible from both the front and the side of the vehicle.4) There is a $10 fee for new plates, and a $5 fee for replacement plates.

    Read more